Marta Moreno, European Volunteer Services in Sicily – CESIE

About the project… 

Even not being sure if EVS would be right for me, it was a step into the unknown. Before I came I know the general idea about my project and its activities. I know I would work with migrants, designing and developing workshop for achieve the empowerment of them… I choose this project because it, because I like the idea of sharing my knowledge with the migrants and I like the idea of help them to achieve their social inclusion and their personal and professional empowerment.

One of the challenge of the project has been to fix the way to work, we‘ve been the first group who develop this project and it was not easy to define our place in it, because of that I’ve sometimes felt lost about the project, nothing was clear for me. But also this “undefined” have a good part, I’ve had the opportunity to participate in a lot of activities related with immigration such as seminars, workshop, events, exchanges… so it has been really good, have these opportunities to see other views of the immigration.

2015-08-25 17.02.50Variety of my project has been useful that I even learned to work in different fields. A good thing is that I learned how to manage in unknown situations and still do my job successfully, developing a lot of my soft skills. I put in practice the typical thoughts about motivation “you can try anything and you can success or not, but if you don’t success is not the end of the world, you learn”. The different activities showed me that normally if you take risks, if you get out of your ‘safe zone’, it pays back. You only need to open yourself to new tasks and new opportunities.

About the place… 

When I decided to apply for a project of nine months in Italy I didn’t imagine what I find here. I choose Sicily thinking that was similar to my home place because both cities was Mediterranean, coast, sunny, etc.. I have visited Italy before, so I have a previous idea about the country… for my surprise what I find in Sicily was different… since the first moments in the city I discover other Italy, a place enrich because it multicultural history and population. The feeling of live in other countries when you pass for some streets is something that not many cities can give you, a Palermo in some way has it.

 

Foto 1.jpg

But Palermo have another part, it is really noise and chaotic and you sometimes feel totally crazy and I need to go out and visit other cities for recover the calm and energy, a perfect excuse for travel.

About the people… 

One of the most important part of my EVS has been the people I meet here. During the EVS you get to know many people. Many different people, coming from a lot of countries, with different backgrounds and ideas about the life and world… and I’ve had the opportunity to learn about their countries and about the way they see the life.

Personally, I learn a lot of things about the people who I shared this experience. And this is one of the most value things about this experience.

Foto 2.jpg

